Life’s To-Do List vs You

Is it just me or do you find that your days are flying by? The to do list keeps getting longer and longer no matter how much you tick off the things you’ve already done! Lately, I’ve been finding myself keeping busy; and I’m not even trying. It’s as if I don’t know how to sit still and relax, take a breather. There’s always something on the go! Cooking, cleaning, laundry, dishes, groceries, this appointment, that appointment, just to list a few. And I haven’t even mentioned building/growing relationships in that list. All this with a full time job? – oh boy. I feel like I’m drowning just thinking about it.

There are ample articles, books & regimes out there on how to still the mind or slow down and “smell the flowers” as they say, but I just find them useless unless I act on it. Am I right or am I right? What’s in it if you don’t act upon it? Then I thought to myself, hey I can say this about God’s word that we read (or should read – sometimes guilty) everyday!

Being in His presence and reading His word gives strength to us; “The LORD blesses his people with peace” –Psalm 29:11. If you don’t make time to spend in the Father’s presence, then you will always feel like you are restless, burning out and constantly chasing after your to-do list. At least that’s how I feel anyway. The fact of life is: there will ALWAYS be a to-do list and the list does not disappear when you accomplish it and tick them off, because something else will pop up that you’ll have to do. I physically see a change in my mood, and body when I forget my to-do list and spend time quietly in His word. He clears my mind, and restores my body.

download (1).jpg

As hard as I try not to get caught in the busyness of life, I’ve only scratched the surface of slowing down. I tell myself, “There’s so much to learn grasshopper”. All joking aside, it is really important to take time to unwind, slow down, and rest. Words without action are just words. You see, I am a practical person so I know I won’t do it unless I act on it, so that’s exactly what I did. I block time off for some “me” time in my calendar and I try my hardest to stick to it.

Don’t allow your to-do list to consume your life, it will always be there – trust me. This week I challenge you to block some time off in your calendar for some “me” time. Spring is here, so go for a walk/jog and own that time! It’s yours.

Leave a Reply

