Expecting from Heaven

051b78149e575e6a756295054b8097b8
God is not a human to lie or change His mind!!

I think it’s safe to say that as humans we have expectations of those around us, regardless of whether they are big or small…we all have them.

By expectation, I mean that you strongly believe in the word that someone gave you and hope that they measure up to what they’ve said. As a spouse, the expectation is that your husband will keep his vow and never intentionally hurt you. Being a parent you expect your child to grow up with good behaviour, morale and values which carry into their adolescence. You expect your friends to be loyal and trustworthy. Bosses expect their employee’s to respect and abide the code of conduct according to the workplace policies and guidelines. As an employee, you expect to receive your salary or wages for the hours of hard work you put in every day. I can go on and list so much more but I will stop here and ask you to reflect for a moment on this small list alone. How many of these expectations are seldom met in your own life or someone you know? I’m sure we’ve all learned the hard way that people make mistakes. Along with you, I’m guilty for not meeting the expectations of someone else and vice versa. For those of you going through a hard time because of an unmet expectation, let me save you future heartache and say that faith in people will bring about disappointment, pain, maybe even doubt. But the truth is-it’s okay because you are not alone; we’ve all been there and felt that.

Expectations aren’t always a bad thing in itself. The problem arises when the expectation is an unrealistic measure that you’re holding a person to. People cannot always live up to what you expect or desire of them. We all fail and fall short-and I can say that because none of us is considered perfect, we are all flawed. However, I can definitely testify and say there is only one who is perfect. In fact, He asks us to expect from Him. His name is Jesus Christ. For as long as I’ve known the Lord, there has never been a time, that my expectation or faith in Him left me disappointed.

There have been countless times I was confused, and even questioned what He was doing, because I didn’t fully understand exactly what He was doing in my life and in my heart. But after a few years on this faith journey with Christ, I began to understand that He is always faithful- ALWAYS faithful to His word to be exact. Regardless of what mountain, storm, wall, struggle, hardship and test I faced; Jesus has always been faithful to get me through it all. I expect Him to do just that- save, deliver, provide, protect and fulfill His promises to me. It’s all of who He is and what the word of God says. I’d be a fool to not expect from Him.

Nov15Jeremiah17-7.png

The word says in Jeremiah 17: 7 “But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him.”

So, today my word for you is to stop expecting from others and put your trust in the Source. He expects you to do so. God is not a man to lie. He sticks close. His love is unfailing and His word remains true. Take Him at His word-because it never returns to Him void. “So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; it will not return to Me empty, without accomplishing what I desire, and without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11.

Hang on to His every word and expect God to do what He said He will do!

Xo
Blessings

Leave a Reply

