Finding Assurance in Jesus Alone- Santhia’s Testimony

I grew up in a partial Hindu and partial Christian home where my mum was a born again Christian and my dad was a Hindu. I witnessed horrendous feuds between my mum and dad due to her attending church, which was not accepted in the family. It made me hate my dad so much that I was unable to have a normal father daughter relationship with him. My grandma used to take me to Hindu temples and this led me to take part in all the religious rituals. When I came home from the temple, my mum and my aunt’s used to cut the ties and prayed for the blood of Jesus to cover me. 

This was a continuous pattern for several years. One fine rainy day, I overheard a conversation that my mum was leaving to United Kingdom for a lifetime job proposal, which made me completely distraught, however it was for a better future for all of us. During this interval I had to stay with my grandma and then was reunited with my mum a year later. That was the happiest day of my life. However years flew by and I still felt I was in an in-explainable bondage; I felt depressed inside, my heart was yearning for something more.I was living a normal life with friends and family, but I was still not happy with my life. I used to argue with my mum all the time as I was not able to understand what real happiness or joy was. I used to say to my friends “If only money could buy happiness, I’d buy it tomorrow.” At one point in my life, I even thought if God loves me then why am I feeling in this manner? Shouldn’t I be happy and always have a smile on my face? Why did I feel lonely when I was surrounded by many people? I wanted answers but no one could answer me.

deuteronomy-31_8On a Sunday morning, whilst worshiping at the church I regularly attended called City Coast Life, in Brighton UK, something stirred up deep within me. I cried to Jesus and said “Lord you knew me in my mother’s womb, why am I struggling with this sadness all the time?” God said to me, you may think I’ve forgotten you but I am always with you. “Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand”. (Matthew 28:20). I just fell on my knees at the alter and on that day my life changed. I could literally feel that someone was holding my hands, even though there was no one next to me.  I submitted myself to the Lord wholeheartedly and just knew that He was with me.

After several years of hurdles I came to know my spiritual parents Anita and David, who assisted me to deal with the spiritual ties and bondage that was making me isolated. All I wanted was to be set free and do what Christ has called me to do. I started to do ministry with my spiritual parents for orphanages in Philippines and Malaysia.  A few years later, God intervened in my life and introduced me to my hubby, Ron, who is a God fearing man. I was wrestling with the Lord and contemplating on how I could leave my life in the UK and enter into something which is out of my comfort zone. But God’s plans were not my plans, His plans were greater. God’s divine purpose and plans never failed, and here I am today in Canada with the greatest blessing of a wonderful husband and a beautiful son.

His promises in my life has never failed and knowing that I am His child and He will never leave me gives me great comfort. God knows the best for our lives, and in His appointed time, His works are miraculous. So here I am today in Canada with a blessed family, sisters in Christ and most importantly with an everlasting joy and happiness in Christ alone. Through my journey I have learned whatever the enemy has planned to harm me, our Father will reverse it into good, for His will to be done in our life. Shalom!

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5

“Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the LORD will personally go ahead of you. He will be with you; He will neither fail you nor abandon you.” Deuteronomy 31:8

 

-Santhia Ronald

Leave a Reply

