What has He done?

06b6a09aac5b5b4ae228fde6b777c718

Remember how the Lord your God led you all the way (Deuteronomy 8:2). I love this word because it is so timely. As I get closer to the end of another year, I make it a habit to reflect on all that the Lord has done for me. I write them down throughout the year, just so that I can look back with gratitude on all the times God has come through for me. It can be so easy to forget all the goodness that has been poured out on our lives if we fail to remember the promises that have been fulfilled by God. Which is why I include in my notebook a list of all the times God answered a prayer request, spoke to my heart directly and times where He also gave me a profound word through a dream.

 

I am not sure what 2016 was like for you. I’d like to think that it was an amazing year for you, but perhaps it wasn’t the greatest. Maybe you can relate to me when I say 2016 was rough in more ways than one. But that does not mean I lose hope or give up my faith. In fact, in the hard and trying seasons of my faith even throughout this year, I held steadfast to God knowing He is my source of strength and continually relied and meditated on His word to get me through some difficult moments. And to be honest, I have to say that His grace safely and lovingly carried me through this year.

 

Some people can’t wait for the year to be over. They wait with great anticipation for January 1st to roll around because they feel it will be their clean slate or fresh start. And although the New Year can be uplifting and encouraging to know that the past is behind us and we can start anew, it’s just as important to remember that God is the same in each year, in every season and His love and faithfulness will endure always. That’s why I’m a firm believer that I do not need to wait for the clock or the date on my calendar to change in order for me to know God will continue to show Himself strong in my life.

maxresdefault.jpg

Ecclesiastes 3 (which I encourage you to take some time to read), goes through a series of time related events only to point out that even though the world continues on its rotation, God is still sovereign on His throne. I’m saying all of this to encourage some of you who feel like you barely made it through the year. GUESS WHAT HONEY??? YOU ARE ALIVE AND BREATHING, THAT MEANS YOU MADE IT!! That alone is something to thank and remember God for. He was with you through the hard times, the bad break up, when the finances were low, when your friends deserted and betrayed you, when your ‘sweetheart’ broke your heart, when the doctors report wasn’t in your favor, when you lost a loved one, when your loved one was taken away, when you thought you were about to lose your mind, when you begged God and cried yourself to sleep over something you can’t even say out loud. God was with you all along. He never left your side even though He may not have come through for you the way you wanted Him to. Maybe He never answered your earnest prayer as yet or maybe He did and the answer was no, regardless of the situation, remember God and all that He has done.

 

He protected you, delivered you, He saved you from yourself. He watched over you, sent His angels to take charge over and minister to you when you were weak and alone. He provided for you, He vindicated you, He saved you from evil and death’s door. He is still preserving you and it’s all for His good pleasure and will continue to do so until His purpose is fulfilled in your life.

 

Do not forget all that He has done, whether that be throughout this year or in the past. Let us not become like the Israelites whom the Lord delivered from Egyptian slavery and brought into a land flowing with milk and honey. God will bring you to your promised land. But throughout the process remember His goodness from days of old until now. The mountain top experiences with God will help you move through the darkest of valleys, but remember that every season doesn’t last forever. God uses it to equip and refine your character. So regardless what happened this year, continue to abide in Him; stay close to Him. And most of all remember Him and be grateful that He is taking you into another year with plans to prosper you and not to harm you.

 

To God be the glory for the things he has done! Wishing you and your family glorious blessings this Christmas season and all throughout the New Year-Happy 2017.

Leave a Reply

