Bless the Lord, Oh my soul!

bless-the-klord

A few months ago, I began experiencing some concerning health related issues, which I was unable to identify. After many episodes of pain and visits to the doctor’s office as well as the hospital, I discovered what my “problem/sickness” really was related to.  Long story short, I can no longer eat things containing wheat or gluten-in other words, I need to live a gluten free lifestyle. It is also known as celiac disease or a wheat allergy; which occurs when the body can no longer breakdown the gluten after consumption.  Therefore, because it affects the small intestines there is no solution for this particular disease, the only option is to go gluten free and change my lifestyle altogether- forever! Now let me tell you, being a lover of all things bread and pasta, that was not an easy choice. However, in order to prevent other problems from occurring internally, I had to change my eating habits. 

It’s only been two months but I have gotten around to changing the way I eat-to simplify, it’s a healthier lifestyle. Some people think ‘Ok, so you got a diagnosis that you’re gluten intolerant, what’s the big deal, so many people are’.  It’s true and that is the sad reality, it is a rising epidemic across North America with numbers rising every day.  So, what does this have to do with anything? Well to be honest, it was the Lord that led me to share this topic after a small statement that my mom spoke over me a few weeks back.

After I found out about this issue, I went over to my mom’s place for lunch and told her that I needed to change my life because of this diagnosis and about how hard it was going to be. I explained that there was no cure and that eliminating gluten/wheat from my diet was the only way I can live from now on. My mum stopped me in my tracks and said ‘Do not receive any diagnosis from anybody, but have faith that what is impossible to be cured by man can be cured by Jesus’! I pondered on those words for weeks and knew that it was God speaking to me. How could I, even for a second, take the words of man over the words of my GOD?! I know, it’s crazy because those that know me can testify that I am a woman of faith. But shockingly, for a split moment I was frazzled in my thinking pattern. Now, before I continue on I would like to emphasize that God also asks us to use wisdom; so that means I took what the doctors told me to do into consideration but I held on tight to my Godly mother’s advice as well.

My faith must arise first if I wanted to see my body whole and well, functioning in prosperous health just as my soul prospers. I mean if I received another diagnosis instead, would I have walked away with the same mindset if I knew there was a cure? Of course not! So, why should this matter be any different?

Some of us have been suffering in our outward and inward bodies (including the mind) for far too long. Some have even become so reliant on medications rather than the word of God (I’m not saying this so you that you can stop taking your meds!) But the core issue is when we as believers get sick and what we do about it-yes, the believers get sick too because sickness is no respecter of persons. In the presence of the Almighty GOD, sickness MUST flee, it has no choice.

bless-the-lord

I want to speak directly to those who are hurting physically-this is not your portion. Jesus did not intend for you to live in pain. Rather, He came to heal and set free those who have been bound to their infirmities-we read it all the time through the gospels. The same God who did it then is Alive and is more than able to do it for you now. That’s why I entitled this blog entry “bless the Lord”! For His word says in Psalm 103:2-5

‘Bless the LORD, O my soul, And forget not all His benefits:
Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases,
Who redeems your life from destruction,
Who crowns you with loving kindness and tender mercies,
Who satisfies your mouth with good things,
So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.’

It is in bold italics- GOD heals ALL… not some, not one, not none -BUT He HEALS ALL your diseases! That alone makes me jump for joy because if I know anything to be true, it’s that God doesn’t lie, and His word does not return to Him void, because it accomplishes what He sent for it to do (Isaiah 55:11). I firmly believe that as you release your faith for God’s healing; miracles will begin to take place. In reading this, my prayer for you is that you begin to believe and speak healing over your life even when you do not see it take place over night. God can do for you in one day what you cannot do for yourself in a whole life time. Amen? It’s worth it to believe that He is able- after all, He created you with such perfection.

Leave a Reply

