Every Moment Counts – Sofia’s Testimony

Hello Ladies, I would like to share with you how I got saved and came to love the Lord. I’ve attended church for 17 years now but I wouldn’t say that I got saved 17 years ago. I knew the Lord but never really understood what it meant to be a Christian. My testimony is not about just one great big moment of revelation but little moments of learning and seeing God make changes in my life. I hope that my testimony will affect your lives and your relationships with Christ.

I came to Canada at about the age of 10 and I lived with my aunt and uncle for about 6 years. I grew up in a Catholic Church, so going to church was the norm for me. Within a year or two, my aunt and uncle were saved and they took my siblings and me to a Christian Church. We went to this church every Sunday. I enjoyed going and attending Sunday school. I was beginning to learn a lot about the bible. I learned about servants who put God first even when they were being persecuted. This really impacted me and I was baptized at the age of 13. It was a decision that I made with the help of my aunt and uncle. I was very young when I got baptized so there was still more growing and maturing to do, which came with a lot of mistakes. Looking back, I know that the Lord was probably upset with many decisions that I made throughout my life. It got to the point where I also got really fed up and said enough was enough, it was time for me to face my reality. I started to spend more time learning about God and understanding how to build my relationship with Him.

I was about 19 years old when I began to understand more of what it meant to be a Christian. I knew that if I put my trust in the Lord, He would lead me on my path. In Revelation 3:20 the Lord says “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear Me and open the door, I will come in and we will share a meal together as friends”. The Lord is always ready to enter your life and get rid of your burdens; it’s just a matter of if you’re ready to give your life to Him. Around the time that I let God lead my life I met my husband, but I didn’t know if he was the right person for me. I prayed for days and asked God to show me if he is who I’m meant to be with. Every time my aunt or my mom brought up this arranged proposal I wanted to say no, but I couldn’t. I physically was not able to say no. That’s when I knew that the Lord was with me so I gladly listened to Him. We have been happily married for almost 7 years and still holding strong with God on our side.

There were still moments where I struggled a lot even after I got saved. I’ve made many mistakes. There were times when I prayed less and read the bible less. I started to notice I was struggling with school, work and my personal life. I was a nursing student at the time. I believed that nursing was definitely the right position for me. I grew up taking my family members to appointments and caring for my older relatives. However, it did have a great emotional impact on me. I would get emotionally attached to what I saw and struggled at times to deal with it. I still believed that nursing was the career I was meant to pursue. However, I worked very hard and still struggled to do well in school. At the end, I decided to try another career path of hospital administration. God provided for me there. He helped me get a job at a very distinguished hospital. I now have been promoted to a position where I can use all the skills I learned from nursing to help people, but I can also remain emotionally strong because it is not as straining as a nursing position would be. I thank God every day for changing my career path because I know that it was definitely the right thing for me.

Proverbs 3:5-6, says “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek His will in all you do, and He will show you which path to take.” Our God is a loving God and He is willing to carry all of our burdens and struggles. He will also give you eternal life and an everlasting love. What a mighty God we serve! Who can you think of that would do that for you? No one can give you that kind of love.

Psalm 86:15 says “But you, O Lord are a God of compassion and mercy, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness.” We all make mistakes throughout our lives, but learning from our mistakes is what is important. Repenting not only fosters your relationship with God but also eases you of your burdens. Letting God take control of our lives will change how we live every day. We will be filled with so much love and peace that there will be a desire to share Christ with everyone we know. My love for the Lord grows everyday, especially when I see the impact He has on my life and my family. He is with me through the greatest moments of my life and through the worst moments.

So ladies I want to leave you with this: God knows all your strengths and weaknesses. He knows you better than anyone else does. He knows every strand of hair on your head and every thought that crosses your mind. Let Him into your heart and watch Him work wonders in you. I’m still learning about my God every day and I want you all to feel the peace and love that comes with growing in Christ. This does not mean that you won’t experience mistakes because you probably will. Mistakes come with growing and learning but it’s important to always be connected with God and bring your struggles to Him. 1 John 3:1 “See how very much our Father loves us, for He calls us His children”, and that is what we are! But the people who belong to this world don’t recognize that we are God’s children because they don’t know Him. So let’s share His love with others and help them feel God’s grace every day of their lives.

 

-Sofia Aruliah

One thought on “Every Moment Counts – Sofia’s Testimony

Leave a Reply

