Confident in Christ – Esther’s Testimony

Hi everyone. My name is Esther and I am really excited to be a part of these blog posts.

I was born into a Christian family in Sri Lanka and when I was 5 years old, my dad became a pastor. So, ever since then, I have been a PK (Preacher’s kid). As a child, I was the shyest person in the whole wide world. I was so scared of people! At school, I kept to myself and made no friends. None of my classmates knew who I really was. But at home, I got along great with my three younger sisters and loved my family a lot.

When I was 9 years old, my family moved to Singapore. I was still a really shy girl. When I became a teenager, I made a few friends at school but was too scared to talk to anyone else outside of my inner circle. But regardless of all of these, I always considered God as my best friend. My parents had taught me to look to God for everything in my life. The great thing about my parents is that they not only taught us verbally, but also taught us by the way they lived their lives. I was able to look to them as great role models. They always put God first in their lives. They had sacrificed a lot to live a life for God.

As a teenager, I went through the typical “attitude” phase with my parents. I remember having a lot of fights with my dad, who was very protective over his daughters. But despite my rebellious years with my parents, I still never let go of God. God was always my constant in my life. He was always my number one. When I was about fourteen years old, I got really hurt by some of my best friends. It was a time where I felt like I had no one in my life. My friends had abandoned me. My sisters were too young for me to get along with. My parents did not understand me. I was now alone. I even used to feel like I wanted to leave this earth so I could go to Heaven. But it was during this year that God showed me that He is my everything. God showed me that even when all else around me fails, He still remains. I clung onto my God during this year and got so close to Him. I still remember that point in my life even today because it was the lowest point in my life. But God really was my best friend. God turned that awful year into something beautiful. My relationship with Him escalated to a new level. I have never forgotten His faithfulness ever since.

When I was fifteen or sixteen, I was at a meeting and God spoke to me through this pastor and told me that I would be a youth leader one day. I remember wondering to myself, “How could that ever be?” I was still so shy and so scared of talking to people. How could I ever be a youth leader?

But God always does keep His promises, even when they seem unreal. I came to Canada with my family when I was sixteen years old. My dad came to pastor a Tamil Church here. Throughout the last few years, God has prepared and trained me. He has changed me. My husband and I are the youth leaders at our Church now and I totally love it. I always look back to that time I got that prophecy and how I felt at the time. It is amazing how God makes things happen. The shy little me could have never imagined where I am today. But I know I am here today only because of my God, who has been faithful to me all my life. I am happily married to my amazing husband and I love the ministry that God has given us.

Even though my testimony might not have a crazy story, I definitely see God’s faithfulness and His promises come true as I reflect upon my life so far. I know He has much more coming my way and I am so excited to see what else He has in store for my life!

-Esther Ravindran

One thought on “Confident in Christ – Esther’s Testimony

  1. Rebecca

    Thanks for sharing your story, Esther! You’re right, God is faithful and He prepares us for greater things we can only do with His strength!

    Like

Leave a Reply

