Guest Post: Persevering through trials!

A message of encouragement to all my sisters in Christ. May we continue the journey in completing the race that has been set before us. Never give up on the pursuit of fulfilling your destiny and the purpose that has been ordained from the very beginning. To those that do not know Jesus, He is the Lord and Saviour who came down for the sins of mankind. God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21). He has overcome the grave and redeemed us from the fiery pits. Please take a moment to search your heart and find what gives you peace; peace that only Jesus can fulfill; peace that transcends all understanding.

My sisters, we are certainly living in the end of days where there are countless tests, trials and troubles that surround us. Some of you may be going through difficulties that may look impossible to withstand. Remember that the troubles we are facing, God has already endured and conquered. He has set up an example of perseverance. His determination and endurance has been like no other. He has stood the trial and took on the punishment of our sins. He bore it all on the cross of Calvary.

Perseverance is an acquired character that develops through the endurance of difficult circumstances and situations. It is a characteristic that enables you to survive the inevitable. We must strongly clench onto the word of God as it is the sword of the Spirit. Without a weapon in the battlefield, it is almost impossible to last. With this in mind, I was not only able to persevere, but also survive every challenge that life threw at me.

perseverance

I have lived on my own since I was eighteen years old and have seen the ugly side of things. I have been through battles of abuse, isolation, persecution, and depression. It was a long, hard journey throughout the years of my life. I was feeling like I had lived a life of a sixty year old woman even though I was only in my twenties. I have failed many tests, and shed a lot of tears, but throughout it all His grace was sufficient for me. His calling on my life, the task He has for me to complete, and the glory that He is to receive through it all, far exceeds the hardship that I have endured. Situations are there to make you and not break you. After you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. (1 Peter 5:10) Our God will restore what we have lost and strengthen us to get through the toughest of things. He has restored and is restoring all that I have lost in ways I thought would be impossible. He’s built in me, a new Spirit and a new confidence to handle and face the attacks of my enemy. Not because of who I am, but because of who He is.

It is not easy to stand firm when waves of great strength, mountains of greater heights and winds of stronger force come your way. But keep in mind, it is not the tree top that stands firm during the storm, it is its roots. When your foundation is rooted in the word of God and on His promises nothing will be able to shake you. Having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him and established in your faith, just as you were instructed, and overflowing with gratitude. (Colossians 2:7)

Find time, to plug yourself in the word of God that you may be strengthened by His promises to face the impossible. May His word drive you to complete the task that has been placed ahead of you. Let us set our eyes on what is greater, that which is in heaven. Whatever you are faced with, it is temporary and that too shall pass. Draw closer to Him as He will draw closer to you. Rest assured God is fighting your battles and the victory is yours. Persevere my sisters, stand firm in your faith and watch how God will take you to mighty places!

-Sivaranjini Sellathurai

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Persevering through trials!

Leave a Reply

