The struggle to fit in!

Anomaly. An outcast, the abnormal, an exception. The world would view this as a negative connotation of somebody, but what the world meant for evil God meant for good, and I can’t think of something more fitting to that truth than this word!

It seems as though being different is not what the world admires. Peer pressure is all around us. Pressure to be somebody, to look a certain way, to fit in with the “right” crowd. We are bombarded with it from the moment we wake up, checking our social media (be honest), to when our head falls on the pillow at night. I used to think fitting in with the world was my goal, but who said we have to fit in with the world when God wants us to stand out.

God says, “Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect” (Romans 12:2). What does this mean? Does He want us to be outcasts, and not have friends? After I gave my heart to the Lord, in my juvenile years as a Christian I used to people please my way just to fit in with my friends. Somehow, I still was the one that was steering away from the group, and if I didn’t do something about it, then I would lose them. This continued for a short while, until I realized that everything I did made me feel foreign to the person I truly was; the person that God wanted me to be.  You see the things that I once sought after didn’t seem so appealing anymore because I viewed my life through the eyes of Christ. John15:2 reads “He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.”  I began to see this flourish in my life. What I was doing was not okay. It wasn’t helping me at all. As I started to surround myself more and more with God fearing people, it was then that I realized that it was okay for me to be different from my worldly friends. It was okay for me to feel like I didn’t fit in, it’s because I am not supposed to fit in with the world. I was created to stand a part.

Sometimes God will break friendships because it is not fruitful to our soul. I never understood that before. I mean, why would God break relationships when He is all about loving on people? There’s a difference that I never fully grasped until recent years. God wants us to grow as Christians and if people are hindering our maturity and walk with the Lord, then we have to let them go. You can still love them from a far. I always have this rule of thumb if you will: if they are truly your friends, then they will stand by you and respect the way you want to live your life. If they don’t stick around, well, then you have your answer. Be strong and courageous. Live your life according to Gods purpose for you. If people say you’re weird, say thank you and take it as a compliment! Be confident, after all you are the daughter of the star breather!

It’s true what is said about whom you spend your time with, and how it can influence you in a positive or a negative way. I see this evident in my life today. I continue to surround myself with woman of God and prayer warriors, woman who speak life into others and who pray for each other. People whom I can pick up the phone to call when I need Godly advice, whom I can seek council from. The more I surround myself with these types of people, the more I see my relationship with God strengthen. The more I choose to be different from the world, because that is attractive to me. Because it’s easy to fit in; true rebellion is standing a part!

I leave you with Lecrae’s song lyric from his Anomaly album. It pretty much sums up what we are as Christians, different…and that’s how it should be!

“Anomaly
Deviation From The Common Rule
Somethin’ or somebody that’s abnormal,
And doesn’t fit in
I say that’s exactly what we are.
We are the odd,
The outcast,
The peculiar,
The Strangers.
And they say we don’t fit in
But I say, we are exactly who God created us to be, anomalies.”

 

 

-Raina Logan

One thought on “The struggle to fit in!

Leave a Reply

