What’s a woman’s worth?

Throughout the history of mankind women have always struggled with their identity. It’s clear and evident that even today many women are still lost in this web of life trying to find their true identity. Many are living life as it comes, with no purpose. As a woman, we wear different hats throughout our lives such as a daughter, a sister, a wife, a friend, a mother and even a grandmother let alone our occupation. What do these titles really mean? So here is my question to you as a reader: Have you ever stopped and thought about your identity? Like why on earth are you here? What is the meaning of life? Or what’s your worth? Is there more to this life? Once you start reflecting on these questions you will quickly understand its kind of hard to grasp a full understanding unless your identity is grounded in a point of reference to Christ.

The world’s view of women and their values have rapidly changed over the last century. Women were viewed anywhere between homemakers to a powerful influence in the business world. Women today have taken more titles in the business executive world than ever before. Women have increasingly become powerful influencers and have redefined what a woman is capable of achieving.

What is a woman in today’s society? A woman is portrayed as strong, full of beauty and having money, career and children… that a woman can do anything a man can do. What ever her aspirations are, she can do it on her own, independently. The world also portrays this woman to be very feministic and sensual, disconnecting herself from what God intends a family to be. Media today paints an image that a woman needs to be physically sexy, slim, dress provocatively, have a great social life and have the means to great wealth. All that is portrayed is about what is on the outside and completely superficial. Women today feel they need to conform to this image to maintain a sense of identity. As sad and as difficult as it sounds, many of our fellow women have fallen into the trap of this ‘media portrayed woman’and have taken their self worth and identity and intertwined it with today’s worldviews.

Woman today are lost and confused in regards to their identity and self worth especially young women who are trying to fit into this false image of who a woman really is. No wonder, teenage pregnancy is growing rapidly and prostitution is becoming quite normal nowadays. Some women have a very low self-esteem and many have no sense of identity or meaning and feel as if they have become a machine to this world. The world throws all kinds of negative outlets that keep a woman away from seeking a greater understanding of her identity and self worth. In another words, in our day and age, woman have somehow morphed into working machines to the world we live in. There is this need for every woman to be modernized and have the latest new trend of designer clothes, shoes, watches, cars, etc. they always want more and have no satisfaction with what they already have. Have you noticed that the suicide rate has dramatically increased in the female population. There is a strong linkage between suicide and identity. The value and meaning of being a woman is long gone and stolen, and has been replaced by the society we live in today.

As a woman I have struggled to find my purpose and identity. I was lost and had no hope in life. There was a point in time where my life was going in a downward spiral. My main inspiration at that time was coming from the world. At that time, I graduated high school and took a year off to just work, since I had no idea what I wanted to do. I went to school part time but dropped out from the program. Education was given a huge importance by my family and my culture. Your education defined who you were and how prestigious you or your family was. Your reputation and self worth was based on how educated you were. Now please don’t get me wrong, education is important but that is not the defining factor of who you are. I remember when I would attend parties or any special events, many people would approach my parents and ask what I was doing. My parents had to give an excuse as to why I was not pursuing a post secondary education. Some of my extended family members stopped talking to me due to the fact that I was not in school. I can go on and on about the countless negative feelings I have felt from my circle of people. As a young woman, I was falling apart, when all I needed at that time was a sense of direction, comfort, and a deeper meaning of my existence. During this time, I was going through a bad relationship, which caused me to fall into depression and thought of many ways to take my life. However, I didn’t have the courage to do so, deep down inside of me there was a scream and longing for purpose. Everything was crashing down on me without hope or a future. My mom took me to a clinic for my depression and they prescribed me with medication, which I didn’t take. I immediately knew I couldn’t live like this, so I became very anti-social and decided to focus on education. Since education was the only defining factor that will give me prestige and meaning in my life. Was I happy? Not even close! Even after obtaining my diploma at that time, I was still lost and felt empty. It was during my first year of university when my Jesus met me and saved me. If it wasn’t for Jesus on September 25th, 2006, I wouldn’t be writing this to you. I would have been gone long ago. When Jesus came into my life, my life changed drastically. He changed the next course of my life. That’s where I found my purpose, my identity, and my self worth. It was through Jesus Christ I found myself. My purpose and identity was found in Him.

The bible indicates that we are made righteous before HIM, and we are given a purpose and hope that will fulfill our identity in Christ. God created women to be beautiful and He views us blameless without blemish even through our faults and shortcomings. The truth is God has a better plan for your life in which you can take comfort and crown your identity in Christ.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11.

What does it mean? It means that there is refuge from what the world has to offer. The pattern of the world leads to destruction and eventually death. But in Christ you are given life and hope for eternal life. The bible says in Genesis 1:27 “So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them”. We are not created in the image that the world portrays or imposes but created in the image of God. A woman’s self worth does not belong to this world but in Christ, and she is made beautiful. She will stand strong and she will draw many others to Christ. Her is hope is found in Christ and she is filled with joy, love, peace, and trust. That’s not to say she wouldn’t face tribulation, but she will have the strength to stand strong in Christ even through her trials and temptations. Our worth is not found in man, in a career, in our friends nor our family but in Christ alone. This world has a lot to offer but does materialism define who you are? Is your worth really based on what you own and what you have? No my friends, our identity is found in Christ. In Christ we are made whole and beautiful. We find wholeness in our spirit. That’s where I found my peace and joy.

The book of proverbs chapter 31:26 states a virtuous woman speaks with wisdom and knows her worth in which Christ has made her to be as a woman, a wife and even a mother. Every woman has the opportunity to choose life in Christ rather than to live in the deception the world offers. As we see in Matthew 4:25, Jesus had every opportunity to receive all the glory that world had to offer, but he remained steadfast on the bigger goal and on the mission He came for. To save man and woman alike from a world full of deception and sin. We are given the choice to choose the way we live. We are given the choice to understand the true worth of a woman. So don’t be confused on who you really are but find your worth and identity in Christ alone. So I urge you to be the voice for the voiceless women in this world that are confused. Share Christ’s love and imprint it in every woman’s heart you encounter. And finally, raise your daughters to be world changers.

So now you can answer… what is your worth?

-Eva Sajanth

2 thoughts on “What’s a woman’s worth?

Leave a Reply

